Rate this post


I’ve been a member of many gluten free and coeliac Fb teams for some time now, and I see loads of the identical questions being requested. It appears whereas one thing are straight reduce – no bread, no muffins, no doughnuts – others are slightly extra complicated. Lots of the identical merchandise are below hearth, inflicting controversy or simply typically baffling individuals.

So I wished to make issues slightly simpler. Name it a ‘Coeliac FAQs’ if you’ll. However I assumed I’d collect collectively a few of the questions I see requested probably the most on Fb into one useful weblog submit. I actually hope these solutions will come in useful – I’ve carried out loads of analysis and consulting with Coeliac UK and numerous corporations on these however after all, if something adjustments, I’ll replace you!

Listed here are some generally requested questions on coeliac illness and being gluten free. All recommendation was right on the time of publishing however please do, as at all times, double verify your self.

Is Bisto Greatest gluten free?

Ah, Bisto. I keep in mind for years having jars of Bisto Greatest (not the granules in tubs – they’ve gluten) however there appears to be loads of controversy surrounding it now. Ironic, given there are SO MANY gluten free gravy choices available on the market.

The quick reply is: Jars of Bisto Greatest don’t include gluten within the components. They’ve extra not too long ago been marked with a ‘could include traces of gluten’ warning. Nonetheless, the Coeliac UK scanner app says they’re nonetheless gluten free. Subsequently, personally this is able to inform me the jars of Bisto Greatest are gluten free. 

Is Vimto gluten free?

I’ve seen loads of heated debates about Vimto, however it seems that though it incorporates Barley Malt (which needs to be listed in daring as a result of it’s an allergen) it’s in reality gluten free. The Coeliac UK app lists it as gluten free.

Vimto says on its web site: “Vimto is classed as gluten-free. There’s a very small quantity of gluten current which carries via from the barley malt utilized in its manufacture, however the degree is much beneath the edge above which it might be thought of to include gluten (20 elements per million).” Facet notice – I really like that ‘is Vimto solely standard within the UK?’ really made it into their FAQs!

Is malt vinegar gluten free?

As mentioned in episode three of Oh Crumbs Podcast, I spent 17 years of my life considering I couldn’t have barley malt vinegar and chastising anybody who dared level some within the route of my chips. Seems, Barley Malt Vinegar IS gluten free! Once more, I believe the very fact Barley, as an allergen, needed to be highlighted is inflicting the confusion right here. 

Coeliac UK says: “Barley malt vinegar is made utilizing a fermentation course of. Which means that the quantity of barley, and due to this fact gluten, ultimately product is extraordinarily small and is properly beneath a degree which is protected for individuals with coeliac illness. As well as, barley malt vinegar is normally solely eaten in small quantities, for instance, drained pickled greens, sauces with a meal or on chips.”

gluten free fish and chips malt vinegar gluten free

Is Worcestershire sauce gluten free?

In addition to being disadvantaged of vinegar, I even have by no means had Lea and Perrins on my toast as a result of I assumed it wasn’t gluten free. It seems, Worcestershire sauce IS gluten free. Lea and Perrins is listed on the Coeliac UK app as being gluten free. I’ve at all times used a gluten free different, and it feels odd to choose up a bottle of this now after years believing it wasn’t coeliac-safe. Cheese on toast is saved!

Are oats gluten free?

This one shouldn’t be so clear reduce. Oats themselves don’t include gluten – they include a really comparable protein referred to as avenin which might trigger the same response to gluten in some individuals with coeliac illness. The issue comes within the manufacturing course of.

The usual oats on the grocery store cabinets should not gluten free. It’s because they might have been cross-contaminated. Subsequently you must solely eat specifically-labelled gluten free oats. You’ll discover these within the free from aisle.

Some individuals do nonetheless discover they’ve a response to gluten free oats and if so, you must undoubtedly return and converse to your GP or dietician to get some recommendation.

Can I drink in espresso retailers the place oat milk is used?

Oh, the dreaded Oatly debate! For the reason that eruption of veganism into the mainstream world, many espresso retailers have elevated their vegan choices with oat milk. Nice information when you’re dairy free, not a lot when you’ve got coeliac illness! I get requested rather a lot: is oat milk gluten free? Whereas some oat milks are gluten free, most should not – together with Oatly, which is the most well-liked model of oat milk for baristas.

Firstly, ALWAYS double verify the packaging as a result of I’ve misplaced rely of the quantity of baristas who’ve advised me they use gluten free oat milk, just for me to ask to see the carton and discover out it was NOT gluten free in any respect.

Secondly, it’s a must to train your individual judgement with this one. Some espresso retailers might be tremendous busy and gained’t train the proper clear downs between drinks, which suggests there’s a threat of cross contamination. Some could use totally different nozzles for dairy and non-dairy milk, which might remove this threat (however not nice when you’re additionally dairy free!). 

I’m afraid there isn’t actually a transparent reduce reply on this one. I do know a lot of individuals who stated they have been getting in poor health from consuming from espresso retailers utilizing oat milk (just for drinks which use the milk frother or blenders) and others who say they’re positive. I’d say go in your intestine intuition, ask questions, and when you’re undecided – keep away from. Or discover a espresso store which both doesn’t use oat milk or makes use of a gluten free oat milk as an alternative!

gluten free oat milk coffee shops coeliac safe

Is wheat starch gluten free?

Wheat is an allergen – and since EU rules state allergens have to be highlighted in daring on components lists, there’s some confusion round gluten free wheat starch. To place it bluntly: wheat starch shouldn’t be gluten free. However Codex GLUTEN FREE wheat starch IS gluten free. It isn’t wheat free, therefore the bolded-up-ness. I’ve written a complete submit on gluten free wheat starch when you’re within the full ins and outs of this topic, however in abstract, if it says gluten free – it’s.

Is Marmite gluten free?

Oh Marmite, why should you taunt us so? Us long-term coeliacs will keep in mind a time when Marmite was fit for human consumption. Nonetheless, since 2016 Coeliac UK stated Marmite is not gluten free. It’s because the yeast extract is a by-product of gluten-containing meals like bread, wine and beer, and the degrees of gluten in Marmite are above 20ppm.

Nonetheless, some supermarket-own manufacturers of yeast extract are gluten free, so when you’re lacking Marmite, you’ll be happy to know that Asda Yeast Extract, Meridian yeast Extract, Morrison’s Yeast Extract and Sainsbury’s Diminished Salt Yeast Extract are all listed within the Coeliac UK app as gluten free.

Is soy sauce gluten free?

Sorry to any Chinese language food-lovers on the market as a result of the unhealthy information is, soy sauce is NOT gluten free. Most soy sauces are made with wheat flour and due to this fact not protected on a gluten free diet. Nonetheless, most styles of Tamari soy sauce are gluten free. Personally I believe this tastes precisely the identical so it simply means you may create your favorite Chinese language dishes at dwelling in a gluten free means.

Is Corona gluten free?

This can be a query I see popping up time and again all around the web – is Corona gluten free? It appears to be a little bit of an city legend, and theories differ between the UK and the US. I contacted Budweiser Brewing Group UK&I to ask them and acquired the next response:

“I’ve taken a glance into this for you and I can verify that Corona does certainly include Gluten. The one beer that we’ve that’s gluten free is Stella Artois, you’d discover this within the gluten free part in Asda, Tesco and Morrisons.”

What alcohol is gluten free?

Truly, various alcohol is gluten free! Typically, until it’s marked particularly as gluten free, anybody with coeliac illness can not drink: beers, ales, lagers and stouts. Just about most different alcohols are okay! Spirits reminiscent of vodka, gin, rum and – sure! – whisky, are gluten free due to the distilling course of. Bailey’s is a typical one I get requested about at Christmas – sure, Baileys is gluten free.

You may have to be cautious with pre-mixed drinks and cocktails to verify nothing with gluten in is added to them, however typically talking spirits, wines and ciders are gluten free.

Are potatoes gluten free?

I do know, to most of us veteran coeliacs it’s a query which appears so apparent and may typically really feel irritating to reply. However really, I’ve realise when you’re newly recognized as coeliac or cooking a gluten free meal for a good friend, it really isn’t. Potatoes ARE gluten free and appropriate or individuals with coeliac illness. 

Are Malteasers gluten free?

Sadly, Malteasers should not gluten free. I’d completely like it in the event that they have been! Schär has not too long ago purchased out some new chocolate balls referred to as ‘Delicios’ that are comparable, however not fairly the identical. If Malteasers ever make a gluten free model I promise you’ll hear about it from me!

gluten free finds uk july 2019 7

Obtained any questions on coeliac illness?

I actually hope these Coeliac FAQs have helped, however I’m at all times pleased to reply extra questions! I’ll replace this submit as new subjects crop up so do bookmark it might preserve checking again. In case you have any questions your self, please do submit them within the feedback and I’ll reply them. You can too be a part of my tremendous pleasant Fb group and ask away in there too!

Like this submit? Pin it for later!

coeliac disease gluten free celiac questions FAQs